Honest Biscuits is honestly amazing

Honest Biscuits is a recent addition to the oversaturation of awesome food spots at Pike Place Market, and I’m so glad I found it. This hip, bright space overlooks a quieter part of the market that I love relaxing in to escape the usual crowded din. That space is off this very well-trafficked section leading to the salmon throwers.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

The first time, I went with the oven-“fried” chicken – piece of local boneless breast with Pike Brewing mustard, pickled onions, & arugula on the classic buttermilk biscuit ($9).

image

image

OMG!!!!!!!!!

image

SO FLUFFY!

image

For those who haven’t had whole grain mustard before, it’s pretty spicy and lively (a.k.a painful). It’s nothing at all like the mildly zingy yellow mustard. The pickled onions worked with this very well.

image

The chicken was moist and tender, with no unpleasant fattiness.

image

I got this with a side of cheese grits ($4) and coffee. I’m not big on coffee so don’t know how to judge it but I think Honest Biscuits needs to provide creamer/milk at their condiments bar besides sweeteners, as a basic thing. But I can talk about these grits.

image

THESE GRITS!

image

At first I thought the portion was really small but then I tried a small nibble and was blown away by the taste, the texture, the richness, and the flavor. These grits were one of the best things I ate all summer. I loved how the tiny amount had a huge contrast between the ultra-creamy grits in the middle with melted chewy cheese…

image

…and the crunchy browned edges, of which there was an abundant proportion. OMG. OMG. OMG. Like lasagna edges but all cheese.

image

These grits were so satisfying and rich, and even a tiny cup (see how the spoon compares?) lasted 20 minutes.

image

The second time I was here I got a vegetarian biscuit sandwich ($5), which was basically the oven-fried chicken sandwich minus the chicken, plus Tillamook cheese.

image

image

Fluffy!

image

Cheesy!

image

I had cheese grits again, and an iced tea. The tea was very good. The sweetness level wasn’t beetus-inducing like I’ve heard Southern sweet tea is (the kind of tea with so much sugar you can basically chew it). It was refreshing and light and did a great job of cutting the hearty carbs.

image

Looking forward to more visits in the years to come!

 

Honest Biscuits

93 Pike St, Seattle, WA 98101

Leave a Reply

