The Inn at Cooperstown review

Staying at the Inn at Cooperstown was a wonderful experience. I had so much fun exploring the bed and breakfast, which is a historic landmark designed by Henry J. Hardenbergh, famed architect of the Plaza Hotel.

The inn, built in 1874, feels more like a home than a hotel. There are a lot of little touches that make you want to stay inside, from a large selection of board games and books to the locally-flavored art on the walls to the coffee, tea, and hot chocolate you can make throughout the day.

There’s a lot of tourist info on the ground floor you can check out. A significant amount of beer-brewing and cider-making activity goes on in the area.

On the wall was this picture of the Empire State Carousel, which I saw at the Farmers’ Museum.

All of the 18 guest rooms are different. Mine had a red, orange, and yellow color scheme.

The rooms that didn’t have anyone staying in them are unlocked, so I peeked into other rooms. They were all uniquely inviting.

My room was $135 a night. I visited Cooperstown outside of baseball season, so the price is probably higher during those months.

Breakfast is included. Although the selection is limited, the nice staff will do their best to accommodate dietary restrictions. When I was there, breakfast was fruit salad, toast, ham-and-Swiss-cheese frittata, and corn and blueberry muffins. The frittata and muffins were freshly made in the kitchen.

I burned off the calories checking out the scenery of Otsego county, which Cooperstown is the county seat of. Cooperstown is right on a huge lake with stunning views of the hills and water. It must be even more beautiful when the weather warms up and the plant life comes back.

Before going back to Manhattan, I took one more walk and visited the public library. The library building was also home to a store selling arts and crafts from the community and a gallery showcasing student work.

To get back to the Albany-Rensselaer train station, where I would catch an AMTRAK back to the city, I took Absolute Taxi, which charged me $145 for the trip (I added a $15 tip, totaling $160). I took another taxi company to get to Cooperstown and was charged a flat rate of $195 before the tip. If you have to take a taxi to Cooperstown, I definitely recommend Absolute Taxi because of the significant price difference. However, if you can rent a car, that is going to be your best option because $145 both ways is still a lot.

My ride from Cooperstown to Albany-Rensselaer was the most enjoyable taxi trip I’ve ever had. Not only was I seeing the scenery of rural New York, which was new to me, I had a great time listening to my driver talk. She told me about her family, which has been here since pretty much colonial days, and has been farming for generations. Because of this, she was very knowledgeable about the area’s geography, weather, animals, and agriculture. She told me a lot of stories about people who lived in Otsego county, including her own family – “They work too hard. They feed the world,” she said about her parents, who farmed.

It was obvious that she really loved where she had grown up. She also enjoyed her job driving because “it’s like the world at my door because you meet people from all over the world.” It was interesting for me to learn so much about this small corner of the world’s history and culture because I had only really known New York City before coming here.

“All of upstate New York has been a playground for New York City” is what my driver had to say about things.

This wraps up the Cooperstown posts, celebrating America’s pastime and times past (to borrow some words from tourist marketing).

 
2 Comments Add yours

  1. O says:

    Great review! Headed to Cooperstown this weekend – any restaurant suggestions?

    Like

    1. Sophie says:

      Hi, I was in China and didn’t see your message in time. I hope you enjoyed your time in Cooperstown.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

